Minutes General Assembly

BGFed.be – Belgian Backgammon Federation

Brasserie du Longchamp, Uccle, December 5, 2014

Present: Guy Van Middelem (president), Johan Segers (secretary/treasurer), Peter Allemeersch, Luc Palmans, Geert Dooms, Marc Steyvers, Akbar Soltani, Nabil Antoun, Maurits Pino, Sassan Kashanian, Zsolt Tasnadi, Michel Lamote, Dominique Stuyck, Annick Hasdenteufel. Excused: Geert Van der Stricht.

The meeting starts at 18:00.

Welcome

The plan for 2015 is to move from an informal, "friendly" organisation to a formal non-profit (vzw/asbl) organisation. The federation is to be structured into clubs. All members belong to a club.

Report of the treasurer

Saldo at the end of 2013: \in 25,25

In: € 514

- \leq 380 membership fees
- € 134 donations

Out: € 305,87

- Website BGFed.be: Domain name € 12,96 and webhosting € 99,80
- Bigelo: € 82,67
- Organisation BIC final: € 110,44

Saldo at the end of 2014: \in 233,38

Fees 2015

- Membership fee: \in 10 per player
- 4 Cubes 2015: \in 25 per team
- Belgian Individual Championship (BIC) 2015: € 10 per player

The fees are paid by the *clubs* to whom the players or teams belong. The clubs are free to organize the way in which they collect the necessary funds from their members.

4 Cubes

2014

Tournament director was Guy Van Middelem (Brussels). Six teams participated: Hasselt, Leuven 1, Leuven 2, Brussels, Ghent, Brugge. Hasselt won the 4 Cubes and earns the title of *Belgium's Best Backgammon Club 2014*. Hasselt keeps the trophy until the end of the 4 Cubes 2015.

2015

Tournament director will be Luc Palmans (Hasselt); he will be assisted by Guy Van Middelem (Brussels) and Johan Segers (Leuven) as referees. The same six teams will compete. The calendar will be fixed in advance, to facilitate the organisation of the encounters.

BIC

2014

Champion of 2013 was Geert Van der Stricht (Ghent). Tournament director of 2014 was Guy Van Middelem. The competition 2014 is reaching its climax with the final between Walter Meuwis (Hasselt) and Maurits Pino (Brussels) taking place in Leuven on December 19, 2014.

2015

Guy Van Middelem will remain tournament director; he will be assisted by Alain Chif (Brussels) and Peter Allemeersch (Brugge). As in 2014, there will be two divisions. However, players from second division will, via play-offs, have the possibility to become champion as well.

EUBGF

A European Backgammon Federation (EUBGF) has been created in September 2014 in Dubrovnik (Croatia), see http://eubgf.eu. Founding members include Denmark, France, Croatia, and other nations. BGFed.been invited to apply to become a member and represent Belgium. The application has been sent Membership for the first year costs \leq 300,-. Missions of the EUBGF include the promotion of backgammon as a mind sport, the creation of a European ranking, the unification of tournament rules, and the organization of a European team championship.

Board

A new board is proposed and approved for three years:

• President: Guy Van Middelem;

• Vice-president/secretary: Johan Segers;

• Treasurer: Line Vandamme;

• Tournament director: Luc Palmans;

• Michel Lamote.

BGFed.be as a non-profit

A non-profit (NL: vzw; FR: asbl) will be created with the name BGFed.be - Belgische Backgammon Federatie (NL) and/or BGFed.be - Fédération Belge de Backgammon and/or BGFed.be - Belgian Backgammon Federation. The above board members plus perhaps some representative from Ghent and/or Antwerpen will be among the founding members. Guy Van Middelem will coordinate the process. Members will receive a lifelong membership ID (from 002 to 999) and membership cards. BGFed.be membership will be required to appear on the rating list and perhaps also to participate in tournaments in Belgium.

Website

Johan Segers will continue to maintain the BGFed.be website. Peter Allemeersch will help by posting messages. Other members are invited to send or post their contributions as well. Please contact Johan for more information on how to post messages on the website.

¹A few days after the meeting, the BGFed.be application was approved.

The meeting closes at 19:30.